Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Need some advice on gear

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by Robb0, Mar 9, 2007.

1. Hey Guys

Need alittle advice. I'm new to riding just got my L's monday and I'm looking at upgrading/ getting extra gear. What I have now is a MDS helmet(Came with my Bike), Dri-Rider Airmesh Jacket, Dri-Rider Nordic 4 boots, dri-rider drimesh summer cruiser gloves and ixon textile pants with knee pads.

Now witch out of theses items should I upgrade first?

Now I'm looking at upgrading my helmet to something better was looking at getting a HJC helmet cause MCA have some on special http://www.mcas.com.au/_products.php?subcategory=197 was looking at spending round the $350 mark anyone here had any experence with HJC helmets? What other brands should I look at for that price range?

Now the jacket I think the one I got is good. Was gonna buy the liner for it for when it rains. When it get colder might buy a winter a winter one. What sorta jacket should I look at for winter? Does a Leather jacket keep you warm in winter?

I'm also gonna buy some waterproof gloves too Anything to look at when I get em?

Boots I think will do for awhile cause there brand new and do there job better than plain shoes. Unless you's really recommend I upgrade.

Now pants was looking at draggin Jeans with knee pads and using my Ixon pants for winter/rain cause they have a liner. Do you think its a upgrade from my textile pants to draggins?

I dont use my bike to commute to work everyday. I just use it for the lesure and for just plain good fun. Maybe every now and then may ride to work.

Think that is all I wanted to know so far. Sorry bout all my questions :( gotta learn some how and cant always trust sales guys.