Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Need Opinions About Tightness Of Chain On Vfr

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by Unconnected, Nov 14, 2012.

1. Hey everyone, just adjusted the chain on my VFR today, uhhh, first time ive done this since i bought it (yeah i know i know, your supposed to do it often, but i didnt) and i never adjusted the chain on my old bike either, anyway dont hate.

So anyway, im wondering if some experts on here could look at the youtube video i just took and let me know if they think the chain is too tight or loose, i think it might be a little tight, whats your opinion?

Enjoy the video...

by thing i main chain link on the back sprocket, i can maybe pull it about 1/2mm off the teeth now.

2. I'm not an expert...but you should be testing from the bottom of the chain at it's lowest sagging point. Get your bike as upright as possible but not on a centre stand. The weight of the bike needs to be on the rear wheel. I put the bike on the side stand and tip it upright with one hand. I put a ruler upright from the ground and measure how far I can move the chain up and down from the lowest point. My manual says it should move about 2.5cm. Your video shows you checking the top of the chain and the back but you just need to go a bit further and test from the bottom.
  3. Thanks for that, when i hold it at the balance point (no centre stand on my bike) i can move the chain downwards about a centimetre, there is no manual for my bike so im not sure if thats too tight. I would film it and show however i cant balance a 220kg bike and move the chain and film, so you will have to take my word for it.

I think i might loosen it a little, its def a fair bit tighter than 2.5cm of movement.