Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Need help with take off

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by mick No:8, Oct 21, 2007.

1. I having problem taking off smoothly on my CBR. I rev to hard when takein off. I think I kind of panic/ rush at the light to find my "first clutch". The bike we uses at Armstrong was CB, and I took off find there was more play in the throttle. Since the CBR is a high reving bike a little twist of the wrist and it off. I can't seem to hold it right on 3-4000 rmp. Any help would be great.

2. Mick, I take off a little slower than most - I'm a newbie, I'm more concerned about keeping upright!! Maybe do some stretches with traffic lights and little traffic to get a bit more confidence. You'll find that balance soon enough.
  3. To get a better feel on the clutch, when you know the light's about to change, let the clutch out just enough that you can feel it pulling on the bike. You'll hear the engine note change just slightly. At this point, all you need to do is roll gently on the throttle while releasinig the last of the clutch slowly, too.

No big rev before the clutch takes up.

Oh, and as Easyrollin said, RELAAAAAAAXXXXXxxxxxx....
  4. Throttle control is always going to be a bit off when you're first starting out, probably more so on a I4.

My suggestion, go to a quiet carpark/road in an industrial estate or something similar and practice your take offs.
  5. Maybe even use a bit of back brake, use releasing that slowly rather than worrying about balancing the clutch so much.