Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Need help deciding on upgrade

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by BiG DaN91, Jan 18, 2012.

1. ok guys im coming to an end of my LAMS restrictions soon and need to start thinking about upgrades!

1. im 20 y.o 6'4 ~100kg
    2. ive been riding for 2 years on a vtr250
    3. will be used for riding 25km to uni, rain hail or shine and weekend twisties
    4. $9-10k limit
    5. looks, sound and comfort are important and i hope to still be able to filter down springvale road

my heart has been set on a gsxr750 but dad says its too big of an upgrade and impractical for commuting which makes me second guess, but then again my friend recently bought a cbr1000rr and hasnt complained. then i start to wonder if a gsxr600 would be a better step up for me in terms of power but i worry it would lack low end torque.

that brings me on to daytona 675 which looks and sounds great but it gets a bit pricey and might be uncomfortable commuting. then i start thinking about street triple r and other nakeds such as z750, ducati monster etc. and finally i go right to the other end of the spectrum and wonder if a motard would be fun!? :blah: :confused: too many choices!! if only i could just keep my vtr to commute and buy a bigger bike for other rides :(

so far i think im set on a gsxr750 or daytona 675 but im open to other suggestions

anyone got any advice or do i just have to get out there and test ride them all?
  2. Test test test! Also, do a search about the models you want, there's reviews of almost all the bikes you asked about on here :)