Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Need advice on new bike

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Kinjo695, Apr 1, 2016.

1. Hi there

**DISCLAIMER** I consider myself a pretty experienced motorcycle rider in general but I don't claim to be a road legend, far from it. I used to race motocross from a young age (now 35) but only recently got into street bikes. I live in Victoria Australia and because of LAMS laws picked up a CBR500R as my first street bike. I had ridden friends R1s and other street biks previously for short periods.

I have been riding my cbr500r for about 18 months and have learned a lot about road riding and feel pretty confident on the twisties and at times I feel like I am getting closer to knee down.(chicken strips getting pretty small etc) I plan to do some track days to further improve my cornering soon.

With that said I am now ready to move on from my beloved cbr500r as it doesn't and to be honest never has excited me with it's performance.

I am looking for advice on my next bike, here are my criteria and options I have narrowed down. (It should be said that I am partial to Honda as I have ridden Honda my whole life)

*Needs to have ABS
    *Needs to be a Supersports or Superbike
    *Not a naked bike
    *Needs to be good and affordable in and around year 2012 second hand
    *Needs to be low maintenance and reliable as a commuter bike (use will be a daily commuter with some weekend twisty riding, low end torque and economics and comfort are important)

I am almost sold on a 2012 CBR1000R-ABS but I am weighing up maybe looking at the 600cc range supersports or possibly Triumph Daytona 675 or MV F3, GSXR750 etc.