Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Nearly a head-on

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' started by botch, Jun 20, 2015.

1. I'm fairly new to riding, it's been about 4 or 5 weeks of bike ownership.

Anyway, today I decided it was time I hit the twisties for the first time. It was going well...gear changes are getting pretty smooth/consistent, countersteering was working for me.

So to paint a picture, I was coming up to a sweeping right hander. I changed down a gear and let the wngine braking slow me down a touch. As I started to turn my head to enter the turn, this twat came from the opposite direction.

All good, except he was going waaaaay quicker than he should have for that corner. Subsequently, he ended up with about half his car in my lane.

Fortunately I was closer to the shoulder than the white line, otherwise he would have collected me.

For interest sake, it was a 100km/h zone, with an 85km/h marked bend. I was at about 90, him well over.

Needless to say, I may have cursed a bit (by which I mean ALOT!), and my adrenaline was through the roof.

Scared the living f**k out of me!

Anyway, sorry for the long post, but O gotta get that out.

• Like Like x 6
  2. Great that you can relive the story. Good job avoiding it
  3. Haha....yeah i'm stoked to be alive still!!

Not really sure what i did to avoid it though. All i did really was let go of the throttle to help the bike stand up a bit, but keep drive to the rear wheel.
  4. Glad you got out of it fine and in one piece. You can just never tell whats coming around a corner, so always a reason to have some wiggle room in reserve, and not be at 100%. Easier said than done at times though :whistle: