Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Near miss in round-about this morning

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' started by DrewBytes, Jul 2, 2009.

1. I've been riding now for almost 9 months, commute every day, and have just clocked 10,000 kms.

Today was my closest call, my riding has been mostly uneventful until this morning. Just at the end of my culdesac is a small round-about which I have to turn right on. Coming from the left was a Camry. I always look left here before proceeding into the round-about as cars have a tendancy to zoom through without slowing down as I live in a small street and they the cross road is bigger road (only 50 kph limit though) through the suburb.

I saw the Camry coming, he was a reasonable distance away, so into the round-about I go. I'm just at the point of turning right (see image) and I realise he isn't going to stop so I swerve to the right hard up against the inner island of the round-about. I almost drop the bike as it hits the inner guttering and I come to a stop. I was actually off the bike somehow standing beside it on the left - somehow I'd hopped off and was holding it without dropping it. A little shaken it took me a couple of attempts to put the side stand down.

Turned around and the car driver was right beside me with his window down. Pulled my visor up and ripped into him with a bunch of expletives. Thankfully he was very calm and apologetic, kept saying he was sorry, and that he didn't see me as I was in the blind spot of his a-pillar. He thrust his hand out the window after a 30 seconds or so of "discussion" to shake my hand as a sorry gesture - which I accepted. He promised to be more careful in the future.