Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Near Highside A Vtr250?

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' started by Dirtos, Nov 18, 2012.

1. Hi all,

So taking off from the lights directly into a right hander in a 3 lane road (middle lane)I get leant over a fair bit for a slow take off and must have punched it a bit too much in 1st as I get a huge wobble and it nearly lost it.

I am a noob rider and just when I thought I was getting ok at riding this happens, then I just had to get out of there asap so I didn't have to look at the other drivers next to me again:eek:

Was it just too much throttle?

Didn't really think the vtr would have enough punch to do that.

Good learning experience I guess and managed to save it somehow at least
  2. Depending on the conditions, the road and your bike, it is possible to low or highside on any rig. What you need to be doing is being smooth and feathering the throttle/clutch to get a steady launch. If you're too rough with it, you're going to lose traction eventually. You will probably get lucky a few times due to the road being grippy, tires being nice and warm etc but one day you'll hit a poor road surface on cold tires and be a bit too grabby with the clutch/throttle and you'll meet the black top.

Incidentally, if you do happen to get out sideways, don't let go of the throttle. It's the #1 instinctual thing to do, but don't get out of it. You can hold the throttle steady, countersteer and come out of it, or you can lowside. I don't know many riders who'd prefer a highside over a lowside.