Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

National Vietnam Veterans museum - Phillip Island

Discussion in 'The Pub' at netrider.net.au started by I Adore Vic, Sep 6, 2007.

1. Hey all. As part of my studies I had to visit an information agency and I decided my agency of choice would be the Vietnam Veterans museum on Philllip Island, mainly for location (close to me) but also because I've been curious to have a look in there for some time now. The fact they have a research library also got my attention. :)

Link to the museum:

http://www.vietnamvetsmuseum.org/default.asp

I didn't really know what to expect when I entered. As a student I was at first able to spend time with staff looking at the behind the scenes stuff to do wtih the library and the museum's exhibits, and then I was able to roam free.

I started with the holographic light show (and I recommend you do the same). This is set up in a 'makeshift' canvas tent complete with a sandbag lined walkway which leads us to a seating area. A 20cm high commentator talks us through the history of the war. After watching the 20min show I can understand why the museum keeps a box of tissues in there. It must be especially confronting to the diggers and their families.

Holographic light show:
    [​IMG]

The museum holds a large array of vehicles and aircrat including a 54 tonne Centurion tank and a rather stunning Bell Huey Cobra helicopter gunship.

The museum has in its collection over 6000 items, and every single one of those items has been donated. There are also a large amt of photographs on display - and it's these which personalise the war - for me anyway.