Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by reggie_mk, Jan 9, 2006.

1. Hi all.
    Im interested in buying a naked bike. It will be my first bike and ive done a bit of research and like the yamaha zeal, suzi gsf250v and of course the honda vtr. further down are the kawasaki zr250 ballius and the honda cb 250f hornet (just because it is an import). Are there any more about the same price range and in the late 90s-00s bracket i dont know about that are worthwhile?

2. Where are you based, there is heaps of modern Bandits around. I have been looking for 250s too and have seen a number of pre 95 ones well 4.5k and i bet you could get for under 4k.

Whats ur budget, where are you located?

I am a orad bike noob too, but i love the naked look - I am going to have a Ducati Monster at my house, ready to ride the day my Ps expire :)
  3. I thought this was gonna be another one of eswens threads :p

I think bandits are around that price range
  4. Think you've pretty much listed everything that wouldn't be classed as a cruiser or basic commuter (ie CB250). The VTR has less power than the others you mention ('cause it's a twin) but does look good, the Balius has a disturbingly small amount of torque compared to the others.
  5. Not sure I agree with that :shock: Was giving a ST2 a run for its money today - but then, he may not have been trying that hard :oops:
  6. VTR puts out 32ps compared to 40+ for the others, both the bandit and zeal also produce more torque (hornet produces the same, Balius much less). Yes the VTR is 10-15kg lighter but you get more variation than that in riders anyway.
  7. Buy a bandit. Then buy a bigger one.

See? Its that simple. :p
  8. Yeah biach bet me to it.