Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

My turn for an upgrade thread...

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Mr Messy, Mar 4, 2011.

1. Hey all, one of those threads we love so much... upgrade time!

Now, on the 14/04 i can go get my full licence, and while i have a few things needing done before i can get a bike, im starting the hunt.
    Ive been harping on about a VFR800 for the last 6 months or so, and i am still very keen on the bike - itll definitely be the first one getting a test ride.
    That said, as i honestly dont know what other similar bikes there are out there, can anyone suggest bikes to me that meet or exceed at least most of the following criteria? :D :

The bike is going to be used primarily as a commuter, but im planning on going for some longer rides (eg tasmania), so it needs to be able to do the distance... plus i do like getting into the hills every so often so it needs to be able to turn too! I know, im asking for a bike that can transform...

Id like at least 750cc so its got some power on tap. Preferrably not over a thou, as the insurance for me is in-farking-sane!
    Has good ground clearance so i can get it around corners.
    Doesnt have the trademark sportsbike seating position (i have a mildly bad back, about 25 degrees give or take is good).
    Can jam some luggage on it.
    Pillion is relatively well catered for.
    Price.... isnt an issue for the right bike, but id grimace a little if its more then $20k...

Now you know why the VFR800 has my attention :p... but if theres anything out there similar that you guys can suggest i go have a ride of, please, do tell :D.