Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

My Pathetic Attempt At Getting My Ls

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Chrissy, Jun 7, 2012.

1. Having paid my $364 for the SA Rider Safe (State Government run) two x half day learner sessions, I looked forward to the experience with a lot of excitement and some degree of trepidation, being an absolute novice.

Day one finally arrived (yesterday) and I turned up at the range with all the other eager lads and ladettes. I thought I blended in with them ok but as one of the eagle-eyed instructors asked me if I wanted to use a scooter instead of the Suzuki TU 250, I don’t think I got away with it. ‘Of course not’ I replied...unfortunately my perceived level of competence far exceeded my actual level of expertise.

The theory session went ok, I felt like I knew what I would be doing. So out to the ‘range’ we went. This consisted of two asphalt covered, chain-link fenced, large basketball style courts – one for the learners and one for those hopeful of getting their licence.

Things started off ok. But as we were ‘walking’ the bikes, I began to think that maybe this wasn’t such a good idea. The weight of it (for me) felt significant…

Kept on going.

Managed to get it 'moving in a straight line, get off, turn it around, get back on, return to the starting position'. This is when it all turned to shit.

Everyone else had stopped at the ‘white line’, but not me, no, I kept on going. Had no idea how to stop the thing – panic set in, had no idea what to do or what I was doing. Brain wasn’t firing at all.