Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

My new toy - Yamaha 1980 XS250 project bike

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' at netrider.net.au started by JimmyJazz, Feb 21, 2011.

1. Hi guys.

Thought I'd say hi (first post here) and post a photo of my new toy- a 1980 yamaha xs250.

[​IMG]

First bike I've bought and I plan to pull it fully apart and give everything a good clean and renew all the gaskets, bearings, etc. Was stored in a shed for 5 years before I got it and doesn't seem in too bad a shape. Complete newbie at this so I apologise in advance for the many stupid questions I'm sure will come.

First question to the Yamaha guys on here, any suggestions for good places to source basic parts (gaskets, carby kits, spark plugs, etc) in Melbourne or that do mail order?

Cheers,
    James

2. What a cool bike. Nice one!

KN

3. I would suggest not worrying too much about the engine. Change the oil, filter and plugs, check the valve clearances and points (if it's got them), stick in a new air filter and then leave well alone for the time being. Give the carbs a good strip and clean and make sure the rubber boots that connect them to the head don't look like fossilised elephant hide. Have a look in the tank and see if it's rusty or filled up with crap from standing. If it is, clean it out (search is your friend) and get a cheapo inline filter for the fuel line to keep any residual crap out of your newly cleaned carbs. The fuel line will likely need replacing, as will the vacuum line to the carbs if it's a vac operated fuel tap. Might not be though, on a 250 and I can't remember 'cos it's nearly 20 years since I had anything to do with a little XS.