Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

My new ride and a few general questions

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by skeeo, Jun 26, 2006.

1. Well i've had this bike for like half a week now and my l's for abit over a week. I've only gone on 2-3 rides on the road as i'm still lacking abit of confidence. A few questions -

i'm an absolute noobie when it comes to bike mechanics and I can't for the life of me work out where to check the oil level of the bike? I've looked at the manual and its quite unclear, hopefully someone with the same bike can point me in the right direction?

I know that boots will one day save my ankles and feet but i'm finding that my boots feel too chunky and I can't really feel where the gear lever is and that my foot sometimes gets stuck between the gear lever and footpeg.

Thirdly, how long before you hit the road? Did you just jump straight into it or ride to the carpark and have a few spins?
  2. Strike while the iron is hot - get out there and ride :D

there should be a dip stick to check the oil level - make sure bike is on a level surface before checking and better to be warm also....
  3. Good bike, mate!

You may need to get your foot levers customised to suit you; specifically made a bit longer to accommodate your humunguous plates of meat. Any reasonably competent engineer should be able to add an inch or two the length of the pedals so you can wear boots and protect yourself.
    wot he said about checking the oil ^^^
  4. hmmm so just take it to a bike mechanic and ask them to add abit more rim to the foot pegs and gear/brake levers?

with the oil, i know there is a oil dip stick, i just can't find where it is on the bike :/