Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

My New Bike! (finally!) And first ride.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by ]{ing Nothing, Dec 3, 2006.

1. Finally purchased!

Ended up with a 1988 black kawasaki gpx250, and paid $2600 for it, years rego and rwc included (so not really new but it's new to me dammit)
    And I have to say, my first ride was interesting one! (Keep in mind I'm pretty much a complete noob)
    So I took off from Geelong where I made the purchase, rode for about 15 mins before deciding that I should fill up to make sure I'd make it back to sunny Melbourne. So I fill up, go in to pay, come back out, and start the bike. Or tried to. It failed to start, and each successive attempt brought a longer dying groan from the battery as it failed to kick life into the engine. So I push the bike out of the way, and I'm on the verge of called the seller, when a couple of guys on enduro type bikes rock up, and ask if things are ok. I tell them I've got battery trouble, try to start the bike to demonstrate, and the guy offers to give me a push start. I said "yup" and he asked if i'd done it before. I said "nope". He tells me to put it in 3rd. It won't go past first, and I have a horrible feeling that I've obtained a - how you say - lemon. We try the start in first, and I screw it up, so he rides and I push, he can't get the bike past first gear either so first is what we try in. Doesn't work. He says "looks like you've got more problems than the battery", and that horrible feeling gets worse, and I begin to think perhaps I should have spent more on my bike than my protective gear, rather than the other way around. His buddy comes along and helps me push and after second try we have ignition!