Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

My Mini Adventure - Strathewan and Kinglake

Discussion in 'Roads, Touring, Journeys, and Travel' started by guye777, Mar 25, 2008.

1. Hi all.

Went for a short ride Easter Monday out of Melbourne and thought I'd share. I'm still a newbie (3 months now), so thought this might be good for others looking for somewhere to go.

Cick here to see My Google Map (Bowden Spur)

Headed out from Rosanna up through Yan Yean and Doreen along the Yan Yean Road. Turned right onto the Arthurs Creek Road, and topped 110 for the first time on my little 250. (8200rpm at 115km FYI - saw that question in another thread somewhere). Bit wobbly with a cross breeze at that speed though - does it get more stable on a bigger bike?

Through Arthurs Creek and sticking to the tarmac I took Greens Rd to Cottlesbridge Strathewan Rd (imaginative road names in this area!). This took me all the way up to Strathewan. This road is sealed, quite narrow with a faded white line (no slips on that then!) that is quite clean (except for the occasional gravel runoff from driveways).

Really, this is my first serious back-country-road, and I start to sense the real exhilaration of some potential touring in future. You really are 'closer' to the bush on a bike. Everything takes on greater significance. I mean you can even smell the roadkill - so that adds a whole new sense to the experience!

Stopped in Strathewan outside the CFA just across the bridge where the bitumen runs out, thinking I'd return alogn the same path. After a short drink and glance at my Motorcycling Road Atlas, I decide it is less than 10km to the Kinglake Road, so I might as well try a dirt track.