Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

My L's experience

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Sirian Sun, May 7, 2009.

1. Finally have a chance to post about my L’s experience. It wasn’t exactly what I wanted or imagined but here we go…

Got out there and was in a group with experienced riders – not good for someone who hasn’t ridden before. Felt like I was intruding on a ‘boys club’ meet. We get started and I’m thinking yeah, this is pretty cool. Start the bikes and do some straight line riding and I stall it – hey it is my first time lol. Try to start the bike again and nothing. Instructor gets a bit shirty so I am a bit apprehensive by now. Still nothing, so he comes over and then sees that the battery has gone dead. He is playing around with it trying to clutch start – so much so that the instructor in the next bay tells him to stop wasting time and just get a another bike.

So now I have another bike and off we go again. Now we are riding around the pylons in first gear. All good, come to a stop – can’t get it in neutral because the gear lever is stuck. By now I am thinking I am so cursed today. Instructor comes over and tries to fix it and off we go again. Start riding around have to go up to second gear. Lever gets stuck again, I panic because I’m thinking he is going to be pissed at me. Take the wrong line through the turn, lowside but get back up on the bastard thing. Instructor sees the lever is stuck again and snaps his car key trying to fix it.