Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

My friend just got a motorbike as well

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Patski, Nov 8, 2015.

1. Hi All,

Just wanna share my experience of how my best friend got a bike and how it effected me. Curious if others had similar feelings when best friends/friends get a bike because you did.

So my best friend of 9 years(basically my brother) just got his first bike, a brand new R3! When I started riding 1.2 years ago I was an absolute natural, I hopped on a bike the first time and after 2.5 hours I had my open RE license. Two day later got my CBR500r.

After 1 year of watching me riding he decided to get a new bike and I had very mixed feelings. On one had I was really excited to have someone to ride with(I'm pretty introverted so I never group rode or anything) and be able to share the joy of riding with him. On the other hand I know he's not as coordinated as me and if anything ever happened to him I would blame myself for getting him into it and I don't know what I would do with myself.

He had 4 lessons and when I went for my R test I took him with me so he could get his RE(it's the same test just different CC bikes). I even signed him up for a refresher course so he would have 2 hours of practice before the test. This was the first time I saw him ride and it scared me because he seem a lot less experience then I had expected after 4 one on one lessons. It almost seemed as if it was the first time he was on a bike.