Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

N/A | National My first track day ... PI 01/12/12

Discussion in 'Racing, Motorsports, and Track Days' started by Kitt, Dec 29, 2012.

1. So I've been riding for a little over 3 years , been to many a track day with my partner as his pit crew but never had the 'guts' to do one myself .... that is till B booked me in for my very first track day ... not just any track day ... this was a day at Phillip Island !!!

My nerves where shot even before we got there ,
    We arrived early ( Mainly due to lack of sleep from the storms overnight )and were about 6th inline .... At the sign in window it was interesting that the official assumed I ws pit crew , not rider o_O
    Get in , set up in a garage with ARC .. my bike goes down for scrutineening and I get my ride day bracelet ( a piece of paper wrapped around your wrist for session ID )
    8.40 was the official riders briefing ... 160 riders , 4 sessions .. 40 riders in each session O M G :shock: !!
    I struggle to do group rides with people I know ... this is going to be interesting :facepalm: ..
    The novices ( that have never ridden PI before ) were asked to stay back after the briefing , we were told that the usual first timer classes would not be held as the coach was unavailable :woot: oh great !! I've never done a track day EVER !!
    They did offer to have one of the staff lead us firsttimers around the track for our first lap ... spose it was better then nothing at all :geek:
    Watched the first group go out ... WoW they're quick ...
    Next group .. even quicker ... then it was our 5 minute call .. I was thinking .. I can't do this :nailbiting: