Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

My first ride through the twisties, and my first stack.

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by zenali, Oct 13, 2008.

1. I try to be a sensible rider. I started reading about safe motorcycling as soon as we decided to get a bike. I practice my e-braking and cornering in carparks under safe conditions. I don't lane-split (as a rule). In times of poor visibility I wear a hi-vis vest to compensate. I try to improve my skills and at the same time ride within my abilities.

Of course, the problem is that as a newbie I have only a hazy understanding of what "my abilities" actually are.

Well... slightly less hazy after my ride into the hills on Saturday.

Hippo had offered to take me up the Mt Dandenong tourist road, and I happily accepted. I've been riding for a little over two months, and this was my first chance to get out of the city and try some twisty roads. I've done Yarra Boulevard a few times, both on newbie rides and on my own, and I practice my cornering (albeit at 40 kph) on the Albert Park grand prix track, but I hadn't made it out for a long run of twisty road. I wasn't sure what to expect, so I tried to ride slow enough to be safe.

I don't know about the rest of you, but I have a kind of monologue running through my head when I'm practicing a new technique. I'll be approaching a turn and think something like this:

Slow before the turn... Now look through the turn... OK, now body weight to the inside... Lean the bike... aaaaaaaand we're through!

I'm sure that this will become second nature, and the internal monologue will fade away with time, but for now it helps me focus on doing the right thing. When I feel like I'm not going to make a turn it goes more like this: