Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

My first crash... :(

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' started by shonofear, Feb 2, 2012.

1. hey,
    so yea ive been riding Auckland roads for the last 4 months in all conditions using the same road 70% of the time and today of all days i felt like going for a little low slide round a wet corner.
    tbh, the corner prior i was a little bit over doing it considering it was wet as all but put more effort to hanging my body off the bike to leave the bike more upright with less chance of slipping out.
    but the next corner (right hander) got me by surprise, come in a the right speed for the conditions 30-40kph, body postion sorted, but before i got a real chance to start the corner i was already sliding down the road.... ahhh crap, everything went slow mo and i was reflecting on how silly my situation is now in, actually was thinking about the fact that i already had a buyer for the bike to pick up in a few weeks :(

anyways, some kind joggers saw it all happen, and said they also saw a road push bike rider go down on the same corner 10 mins earlier so something was definately up.
    bike damage:
    snapped front brake lever (at least i could still ride the bike to work)
    broken mirrors/indicators
    bent/buckled rear brake lever
    massive dent in exhaust
    scratched engine bits
    buckled my gauges a little bit also,

body damage:
    sore elow, grazed
    sore hip, bruised
    was actually wearing the thinest fake leather jacket with no padding and instantly reget not wearing my proper jacket, only wore it cause went to gym and less effort to get in/out.