Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

My first bike!! Help

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by purdie, Oct 20, 2009.

1. Hey all,
    I'm new to netrider, and to riding in general. Been on a fair few dirt bikes throughout the year but just got my license a few weeks ago.

I am now on the hunt for my first bike. As it is i've ridden a friends big 1000 Yammy Virago. That thing was comfy but hardly riding. I've test ridden the Hyosung gt650r also. I really liked this bike, great sound and power, but i'm sceptical of the quality, and also wonder if i'll be able to sell it at all if i derestrict it?? I would only get the 2010 model as the EFI is one thing I think the bike would fail without! Also want to get my leg over a 2009/10 Ninja 650r and maybe the cb400? The gs500 was also fun to ride, love the position and feel, my close second after the Hyo.

Thanks in advance for your help. Look forward to hearing from everybody!!

2. welcome to NR purdie.
    Im looking for my first bike too and also considered the GT650. I decided against it because i think you will be pushing shit uphill to sell it when you want to upgrade and if you get it derestricted in my opinion it will be near impossible to offload. I cant see how anyone on their full licence will buy a secondhand deresricted hyosung 650 when there are so many other awesome mid size bikes around. would anyone seriously buy a second hand gt650 over a second hand gsxr or r6? even of the r6 etc were a few years older than the hyo, the hyo wouldnt get a second look.