Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

My CBR250RR Wont Start

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by VLTurbo, Jun 21, 2005.

1. I went to take my bike out for a ride on Saturday but it wouldn't start. I checked the fuses, petrol, battery but they all seemed fine. The bike would crank but just wouldn't start. Any idea's?

I'm pretty new to the bike scene and don't have much experience in troubleshooting, any advice would be much appreciated.

2. Possible probs

If you're not riding it much, it's possible that the battery is low on power, both for turning over the motor, and generating a nice fat spark to fire on. Get you local dealer to check the voltage regulator and make sure it's passing a good current back to the battery, (should be around 14.1 volts at idle)
    If you've got a couple of beefy mates, sit on it, click it into second gear and see if they can push start you. If it fires (be suited up first, of course) take it for a nice long ride to get the battery charged up again, or, just ride it round to your dealer, wave a wad of folding at him and say "FIX!"
  3. You say that it cranks so obviously you can hear the starter motor, does it sound like it's even trying to kick over??? Does the cranking die very quick when your turning it over???....more info............ :shock:
  4. Definitely more info required. The engine is turning over? Is it turning at a consistant rate? If not you could have a regulator or battery issue. If it is turning and not dropping away it could be a fuel issue. Carb balance problem maybe?
  5. Has the bike started before? How did it last come to stop? (did you just kill it or did you flood it and leave it?)