Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Featured NSW My California Superbike School Experience

Discussion in 'Racing, Motorsports, and Track Days' started by chilliman64, Sep 28, 2016.

1. #1 chilliman64, Sep 28, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2016
    this is a long post so I apologise in advance for that. I just wanted to post up some of my thoughts and observations about my CSS experience. it has been a really positive and empowering experience for me and if one rider does Level 1 because of something they read here then I would be very happy about that as it will make them a better, safer, more confident rider.

I started riding in the 80's. my mates had bikes so it was natural that I got one too. they taught me to ride and so I learned their good and bad habits and some stuff I just sort of worked out myself.

fast forward a lot of years and I have a 2000 model Hayabusa. anyone who has ridden one knows how awesome these things are in a straight line - think millennium falcon if you haven't ridden one. I knew my mastery of this machine was not very good and frankly the sheer power it produced from just a minute throttle movement was a bit confronting. I needed training or a different bike - I opted for training.