Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

My brake kinda fell off.......[vic]

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' at netrider.net.au started by Griff, Oct 11, 2010.

1. Sorry if this is in wrong section. Involving a couple questions like insurance and technical.

I'm somewhat new to motorcycles. Learnt a lot over the last couple months but still many gaps. Not ranting or angry, just giving details for hopes of some decent advice :) I would like to point out I am a very responsible rider. Do not break speed laws, make illegal turns etc.... My bike was a means to a new job I start in two weeks.

Anyway.... I bought my motorcycle (1992 Virago) 2 weeks ago today. It was delivered last Thursday so i've had it 5 days.

Today I went to visit a buddy after work around 2pm. Half an hour later I left and something didn't feel right with the bike.... Something felt exceedingly wrong when I was pulling the front break with no pressure or braking present at all. It seems to bolts have come out and the caliper (?) came off the front disk.

Luckily me quick thinkin, there's a change, didn't panic and slowed with the back break and thanking my lucky stars I was doing around 25 and not 60.

Called the garage that sold me the bike, they gave me a call an hour later telling me the size of the bolts. Better than nothing I thought so we went and got the bolts but it's kinda impossible to put the thing back on the disk with no knowledge.... or the advice of buy these bolts and use a flathead screwdriver to put it back on.... Bit hard when the Piston (?) is locked. (Be so glad when I fully learn all this terminology)