Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

My bike feels like its on ice skates!

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by MR_PEA, Aug 11, 2009.

1. I have been riding my cbr600F4i for about 2 months now.. and i have noticed that in the wet the bike has alot less grip then my vtr250 had with new tyres... at first i thought it was the just the weight of the bike.. but i really cant turn faster then about 20kms an hour around a street corner.. i feel like a car is gonna run me off the road.
    the tyres are
    Front Bridgstone 120/70ZR17 M/C Battlax BT014
    Rear Metzeler 180/55ZR17 Sportec M3

im not sure if i should soften up the suspention or get the tyres changed, which is kinda annoying because the tyres are less then 5thou old and still have plenty of meat on em...

I primary use the bike for commuting but I only really come across this in the wet.

ideas guys?
  2. Check tyre pressures?

I am not personally familiar with those tyres, but I believe they should be up to the task.

How familiar are you with wet weather riding?
  3. hmm it has been a while since i checked em...
    but i have had this feeling since ownership of the bike..
    normally i have the tyres set to about 35psi..

i have had a bit of experience with wet riding.. basicly i have been riding 4 or more times a week since i got my 250... rain or shine...
    and i had that for about a year..
  4. I just checked the manual for my bike and it states that i require 36psi in the front, and 42 psi in the rear.
    ill adjust the tyres and see how i go..