Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

My 2003 Yamaha WR450 Supermoto Build up

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' at netrider.net.au started by Takamii, Jun 12, 2012.

1. So I managed to get a 2003 WR450 at a good price to use as a dual purpose bike

Its in dirt bike form currently

Its got the usual scrapes scratches and so forth but as its my first attempt I at a supermoto build I it thought best to start out cheap

its done some miles but has a rebuilt engine ( new barrel and all ) carb has been jetted and has a brand new full fmf system, the front and rear suspension has already been set up for a 110kg rider with heavier springs , re-valve and so on - has done about 500kms on the rebuilt motor and the guy lives down the road from me and has been very helpful and told me to come see him any time if I have any problems at all.

Now its time to build it into a supermoto

On the shopping list is a motard set up from

Mostrano http://www.motostrano.com/

A new set of plastics with a yz450 rear tail to get rid of the ugly wr450 one

Need to find templates from an 2003-2005 (/?) wr450 plastics to design my own RHOK graphics for printing

some new barkbuster skins

supermoto size side stand

a general clean up

later model headlight

and other crap i can think of when it remember like axle sliders

I look forward to some urban hooliganism like jumping cop cars etc

This one should move me along much better than the WR250X I had which was a freaking lovely bike but underpowered for my fat arse

I am just not sure whether to go for a 4.25 rear rim and a 150 tyre

or go for the full sik 5 inch rear rim and 160 for bragging rights -