Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Mv Augusta brutale or not brutale

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by AustrianDude, Nov 27, 2012.

1. Hi everyone. New to the forum and already got a tricky question. What bike should I get.
    I have been riding for about 6 years but mainly on the dirt. Had an xr400 which I rode to work and traded against a Ktm 450.

Now I got the street bug and want to get a road bike. I have been tests idling a bit and can't make my mind up.
    My original budget was 10k and I was looking at the street triple, shiver and fz8.

I have ridden all 3 above as new and must say so far I liked the shiver the most. The yammi was nice to ride but was just not as exciting to ride and to look at as the triple or the shiver.

So last weekend a mate got me to try the mv Augusta brutale 920 and the 675. I loved both of them but both of them them are quite a bit above budget. I could get the 920 ex demo for 14500 and new for 16000. The 675 is 15000. My mate recommends to fork out the money and be done with it rather than buying a 675 now and outgrowing it in a year or two.

I am planning to mainly ride it on weekends and hardly any commuting.

What do you guys recon as a first naked?

2. #2 Jem, Nov 27, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2012
    Ok before anyone else has a go- hello to you to.

That done see below

1. Go to the welcome lounge and introduce yourself
    2. Search is your friend, you will find plenty of threads about the bikes already posted.
    3. Look at service costs on MV's as this adds to total cost of ownership.
    4. There is a new MV Brutale 800 coming
    5. Need to know more about your size location etc before we can really comment on choice of bike.