Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

MT-07 fender eliminator lights wiring help!

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by wardy1, Nov 7, 2015.

1. Hi guys,

I'm currently installing a fender eliminator on my shiny new MT-07, I've run into issues with connecting the rear LED light for the number plate . I'm an electronics noob and can't seem to get it to work . What I've done is got the blue and black wires from the bike and soldered them to the black and red from the light (all wrapped around each other). Is this correct ? Or is it meant to just be black soldered to black and red to blue ...I've tried both and no luck so far , starting to pull my hair out !!

Any advice from others who have done this would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

2. First of all LED lights are polarity sensitive so they will work with power one way but not the other. Do you have a multimeter? If so measure the voltage between the wires to work out which is positive and which are negative. Is there a wiring diagram in your Owners Manual?

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Do you have a spare battery handy that you can test the LED light on ?
    I'd expect Red to positive and Black to Negative but maybe it has an issue.

A test light or multi-meter should prove the same with your bike.

4. As above check with a multi meter, buy a cheapy if you don't have one. Also check the fuses.

Welcome to Netrider, where abouts in Sydney are you?

5. This. Don't need a spare battery, just use your bike battery :) You cannot break the LED or your battery.
    As above, try red on + and black on - first and it should light-up - voila! If not, swap them over and then you'll know.