Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Solved MT-07 Broken O-Rings

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by Mangrove, Jun 12, 2016.

Tags:
  1. 7 month old MT-07LA model with 6500 km.

Chains been cleaned and greased every 500-700km. I have maintained chain slack to spec and to be honest after the first adjustment it's remained perfect on its own accord.

I purchased the bike new and initially had some rather bad rattling which was serviced and mostly resolved when they replaced the chain tensioner at 1000km

I noticed the first ring broken between 1-2000km on the dial but since then I've noticed more.

The ride is fine but I'm new to riding/chains and so Ive got no idea if this sort of thing is a problem or normal progression for chain..?

3. Hey Mangrove, I am having a few computer issues replying to you. I'll try again
    I am up to 20,000Km on my MT-07 and have had zero issues with the chain. This is despite quite a bit of ridding on sand and gravel, that might have caused issues. I have cleaned the chain & sprokets with kero twice, and do spray oil on the inside of the chain, when it's hot and about every 1000Km. So yes you do seem to have something odd going on. I'll leave it to the old hands to sort it out with you.

4. thanks for the info carl99