Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

{Moved from General} Suzuki GFS 250 - LAMS - helps

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by vpow, Jun 2, 2013.

1. Hi there,

I am getting my LAM bike and i am new in bike searching and clueless what to expect on second hand bike. In saying that, i did a quick google search what to look for.

So, i come across Suzuki GSF 250 bandit, i think this is grey import. I just need someone to help me out with some issues or those with Suzuki bandit might be helpful.
    So i have few question and hoping you guys can help me out abit.

1. To shift the first gear, the bike required to rev to (5000 - 6000rpm) in order to be smoothly engaged. I am not sure if this is normal as the owner keep telling me this is 4 cylinder bike therefore it will required high rev to engage. Well i think it is abnormal. Any views? Or it is mechanical problem? Something can be fixed?

2. I notice some oil on the right front forks, so it is normal? Not huge amount, but visible. Is it a sign of bad seal? How much to fix such problem?

3. What are the general problem for GSF 250 bike?

I hope someone out there could provide some insight.

2. There are plenty of good bikes available for cheap without having to resort to grey imports.
  3. Is there a reason you have picked the Bandit?

If its the price you were looking at then why not look at kawasaki zzr250/gpx250. You could pick one of them up for $2500 and they are super reliable, easy and cheap to run. (Practically the same bike).

I would not recommend a grey import either.

For your interest, have a look at other LAMS 250's such as the Honda VTR250, CBR250 and the Kawasaki Ninja 250, these are the most popular.