Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

{Moved from General} Suitable bike for learner?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by ssadam, Jun 14, 2014.

1. #1 ssadam, Jun 14, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 14, 2014
    Hi I'm a biking novice having just got my l's. I am on the lookout for a small bike and am thinking about a cb125e. I spend my weekends at nowra nd weekdays in Sydney and was thinking of learning on this bike on country quiet roads around nowra and eventually riding it up to keep as my commuter bike in Sydney once I got proficient enough. My question is whether a bike like this could be ridden to Sydney on l's? Would, for example, it be able to get up the escarpment at Wollongong? Or am I better off getting the same bike in Sydney? It's a very tempting package price from the honda dealership in Nowra that I haven't been able to match in Sydney but there is no point if this bike couldn't be brought up to Sydney once I was experienced enough.

Any advice is much appreciated.

Read the Forum sticky thread
  2. I'd not like to see you combining your learning processes with a ride like that on a 125 on a regular basis. You really should be getting a 650 LAMS bike, or a 250. You need at least to be able to keep up with highway traffic, and have a bit in reserve when you need it, than to be tapped out at full throttle for the whole ride....
    • Agree Agree x 2
  3. A cb125 will be too tiring to ride that trip regularly. As Hornet says, have a look at the bigger engined LAMS bike.
  4. It would not be a regular ride just a once off to get the bike back to Sydney. So it's sounds like it's not beyond it's capabilities?