Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

{Moved from General} Australian Standard Stickers

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by Aloosh, Jun 20, 2011.

1. Hi Guys,
    I am quite new to the bike scene and I have recently signed up to the Netrider forum.
    I have been doing a bit of search about the Australian Standard Sticker and I am not getting a straight answer...

Am I required by NSW law to have the sticker on the back of the helmet if it already has it marked on the stitched on the inside of the helmet?

It is clearly visible that the Helmet is a AS1698 Helmet when you look on the inside of the helmet.

Only way to take this off, is if i was to rip the inner lining of the helmet.
    I am really confused, please help...
  2. No sticker = not legal.

Hope that helps.
  3. yes no sticker = not legal and must be stitched on the inside too
  4. I differ in my view and believe that I have the experience and knowledge to be regarded as an expert in this field

Section 8 of AS1698 ( labeling ) states that a label with certain words on it such as warning and no helmet can protect you in every incident of an accident plus materials the helmet is made from etc etc as well of date of manufacture must be sewn into the inside of the helmet and visible without having to remove any lining.

No where in the standard does it say that there is a sticker required for the outside of the helmet.

If state traffic laws say there must be a sticker that is a different story- however the only reference I can find in state traffic laws is one that states you must wear an AS1698 approved helmet.

Motorcycle helmets
    Helmet law

The NSW Road Rules 2008 requires that: