Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Move slightly faster than the traffic - good advice?!?!?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by guggle, Jan 12, 2011.

1. I was looking at this article http://www.sportrider.com/ride/146_9508_motorcycle_riding_tips/index.html and in it, it states that

Is this really good advice?? What are the experienced riders thoughts on this?

Cheers, Michael.
  2. Sounds pretty right to me.

Certainly can't agrue with the idea of spending as little time as possible in a drivers blind spot.
  3. OK, I'm not experienced, but I'll have a crack. I think this is generally true but it depends on lots of other factors such as your ability, traffic density, road conditions, weather, etc etc
  4. Damn straight it's good advice, and fvck the law that says otherwise. You know they teach the same practice to our Leos in Oz, but they don't want us to do it, go figure eh.

Although bear with me on this, it's not a hard 'n' fast rule more of a principle. And the principle is understanding the traffic around you and using it to your advantage.

Car drivers are notoriously stupid and even if they're looking at you they can't always see you. Added to which is if they've seen you they sometimes forget you're there. Freaky but true.

So staying in one driver's vicinity for too long is fraught with danger. There will be plenty of people who will say it's not happened to them so it must be bullshit. But that's ok, it only needs to happen once to be an issue.