Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Motorcycle model naming

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by smileedude, Nov 28, 2014.

1. So lets imagine I'm a motorcycle designer. I spend years developing a new bike. It comes out looking shmick and riding like a dream. Painstaking thought went into every corner and panel. Then I give the thing over to the marketing department and they have to name the thing.

"Hey Bob, grab the scrabble bag!"

"You wanna try again, see if we can grab some letters that make sence"

"Nah fcuk it"

Every other thing on the planet that gets sold they usually make some effort to pick a combination of vowels and consonants that makes a word. With cars they are general awful. I saw a "Tribute" today and had visions of it being rolled into a volcano to save some island folk.

I don't really care, it does make it a little difficult for people like me to remember the names of bikes, but I am more curious if there is some expert marketing theory behind the complete lack of basic literacy in naming bikes?
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. #2 iClint, Nov 28, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2014
    VTR aka "The firestorm"

CBR1100XX aka "The blackbird"

GTR1300r aka "The Hybusa"

There are heaps more; ninja, katana

The what seem generic model codes also have meaning eg. V-Twin, engine size, model variant, etc.

You'd also probably find that it was the engineers who gave the boring code, and the marketing team that come up with sick names about ninja swords, and birds that will kill you.

The fact that bikes often get different names for different markets probably confirms my suspicions it's the marketing eg the VeeTwinRace1000ccFirestorm (The F may actually stand for Faired) was called the Super Hawk for the U.S. market.