Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

motorcycle gear - unprofessional?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by kyo3email, Aug 26, 2008.

1. Hey all,

I had an interesting reaction to my bike gear at work today.

I add a bit of context i work in a hospital and i was going home. So before leaving i don'ed the bike gear (jacket, spine protector and helmet in hand with gloves inside), walking out i saw one of our kid patient's who was feeling sick and remembered to bring him a cd to listen to while he was coming in for his treatment. (Audio slave if your wondering. This kid has good taste).

On the way out i drop in to just quickly see how he is going and after short while one of my seniors pulls me aside and says "I know you mean well, but i don't want to see you dressed like that around patients ever again. It is highly unprofessional."

Personally, i think i can see where he is coming from and if he thinks that evently some patient down the track will think the same thing and i don't want to upset my patients. plus i respect his opinion, so i will listen to him.

However it go me thinking i'm only speculating why i think he thought it was unprofessional and well.... what is so unprofessional in wearing my jacket? If i was talking to patients while wearing my helmet i can understand, but hmm... i'm not entirely convinced it...

For me it i feel it is just a jacket which helps keep my skin where it should be in the event of a side. But clearly in this particular experience it is ragarded by some as much more.

Does any one out there think it is unprofessional or inappropriate to wear bike gear in a hospital or in other situations? and if so why?
  2. It may be nothing more than a uniform dress code.