Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Motorbike parking

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by harrier, Feb 25, 2006.

1. Hi All,

I am new to riding. I have looked through the threads but can't seem to find much info about parking my bike. What are the laws regarding how a bike can be parked? I assume parking on the footpath isn't legal even though I have seen it done a lot. Anyone have tips for making sure that m bike isn't run over by cars or accidentally knocked over by pedestrians? How safe are car parks?
  2. There's no really safe way to park a bike because by definition bikes are a vulnerable device.

Parking on the footpath is not legal in NSW, but some places do allow parking in the alcoves at the front of buildings as long as it is inside the frontage line.

If you can park near a wall or away from an area that looks to be directly trafficed, do so.

Car parks accept no responsibility for any damage or theft of any vehicle parked inside them; check the back of the ticket.

Oh, and welcome to the friendliest forum on the Net.....
  3. does your VSTOL help in finding parking ? :LOL: you could always try a top of a building. :LOL:
  4. Welcome harrier. If you move to Victoria you can park on the footpath. :p

BTW how are you finding the GT250R? Had it long? I've had mine about a week now. And have driven my car only twice since I got it! :wink:
  5. I've had mine for 2 days now. I had a bit of a scare at first as the chain guard lost a bolt and was sitting on the chain making a rattling noise. I thought the engine was packing it in at first! Easily fixed with a new bolt though. Other than that I am enjoying the ride!
  6. As has been mentioned, you can't park on the footpath in NSW.