Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Month Long Oz Trip: Advice Wanted

Discussion in 'Roads, Touring, Journeys, and Travel' at netrider.net.au started by mr_mbuna, May 19, 2007.

1. Hi, I'm an American student at Sydney Uni for the semester. Classes are drawing to a close and from June 21 until August 3 I have penciled in free time to explore Oz. I'd like to do a motorcycle trek of the country - at the very least Sydney-to-Cairns, but potentially much more.

Back home, I'm a licensed motorcyclist. I owned a 2001 Suzuki SV650, which I sold just before starting my travels in January. I used that bike for mostly short rides and daily commuting but I did do some weekend trips to the coast. Earlier this year, I spent a few days in northern Thailand doing a 1,000-km motorcycle tour on a rental Honda CB400 out of Chiang Mai with some Aussie blokes.

I always planned to do some touring around Oz after school ended but it was an issue in the back of my mind until recently. Heck - there was a strong possibility I'd return home early for some summer work, but that's off the table now and I'm hitting the books to plan out a trip. I've been working over the past week to research routes, equipment and costs.

I've posted my plans, and some questions, on a few forums now. One of the most important points I've gathered is that I shouldn't plan to do anymore than 300 km per day if I want to take it easy and actually see rather than just ride. True?