Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Molten RHOK - Installation and other things.

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by minglis, Mar 29, 2012.

1. I was lucky enough to score one of Takamii's Molten RHOK wheel light kits.

This is a record of my experience with it; installation, impressions, feedback etc.

First of all I have ZERO experience with electrics. This has been a massive learning experience for me, and I've enjoyed it very much so far.

The first phase of this was receiving my kit from Takamii, which I got in the mail yesterday.

I also purchased some extra bits from Jaycar (I spent about $10) so that I could add a switch to the system:

The switch has a rubber hood, which I figured would be good for being water resistant.

OK, now to work out get it installed.

First, I gave the bike a good clean, paying particular attention to the wheels and locations where bits would need to be stuck down. Bike cleaned, I then started to work out the installation process. Now, to be clear here, the instructions say that installation should take 1-2 hours. Now that I understand how it should be put together, I agree that this would be about right (maybe a bit longer if you take your time and be very careful... not a bad thing). However, for me, fumbling my way through, and trying to learn about bike electrics at the same time, this has been blown out of the water. So far, I've spent about 3 hours, and pretty much just got the rim tape installed. I HAVE also gained knowledge of the bike and mapped out how the system will be installed. Time well spent IMO.