Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Modification info Victoria

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by DTyamy, Nov 20, 2009.

1. I am starting a little cafe racer project and am not sure of the modification laws in Victoria. Can you use an engine in a different frame by the same manufacturer. ie, Yamaha DT 175 engine in a Yamaha TT350 frame.
    Also can you use a different front and rear end, ie Honda NSR 250.
    I would appreciate some info on what is or isnt allowed.
    Tried reading Vicroads info but I'm not very good with gobledegook.

2. The motorcycle frame is usually what is registered. Swapping in a similar size engine (regardless of brand) is usually okay but if the frame is modified (welded) you will normally need an engineers certificate to get rego. Swapping other front ends, swingarms etc. that is a virtual bolt up is usually not a problem, especially where it improves braking etc., the issue again is when the frame is modified to make it fit. You can pretty much do anything to anything however, provided an engineer will sign it off.

Obviously avoid going backwards (drum brakes on a gixxer engined bike for example!). Though I am at a loss as to why you would want to put a DT175 engine in a TT350 frame! The early XT/TT and similar 4 stroke road trails lend themselves well to all kinds of projects, I am actually on the lookout for a cosmetically poor XT550 for a similar project I have planned! (just in case you know of one!)
  3. Hi, thanks for the info, does an engineer have to sign all the mods off before registration? I used one when building my open wheeler Clubman, I'll have a word with him.