Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

MLC Nonna

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by julia, Dec 17, 2015.

1. As a very fresh newbie I'm overwhelmed by the amazing community that exists in the 2 wheeled world.

I'm having a nice little MLC (mid life crisis) of the best kind. I took myself off to do my L's and on the 2nd afternoon went on and did the DKT. All happy.

Next I wanted to find the sort of bike that would be right for me.

I sat on lots of bikes one Saturday morning, probably annoying all the sales guys as I was never going to buy new.
    I then found my ride a Suzuki GS500. i know they don't make the GS500 anymore. So 2nd hand market was for me.

Faired or unfaired was the biggest dilemma but it came down to affordability and availability. I just couldn't wait to get on a bike. So I found a 2013 Suzi F that hadn't quite done 4000km, was only first registered in Aug of 2014 and was still under warranty all for $5K. Oggy knobs were an added bonus I was to find out.

Yep I have fallen over with her twice in these last 2 weeks of riding (been on the bike all of 14 days now) I've learnt that the camber of the road can be very nasty and i must bring the revs up to get going on a hill.

So my awesome cousin rode the bike home for me the day I got it. Then it was my turn to finally get out of 2nd gear. Damn that didn't take long, I was off! and haven't looked back.

My first trip out the next day was to do about 200km on my own, going through Church Point, Akuna Bay and West Head.
    Then going round and doing it all again! Lots of learning, but done in my own headspace and timing. I was treated to that beautiful view at West head. I'd forgotten how good it was up there.