Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Mladin Wins First Race of Double-Header

Discussion in 'Racing, Motorsports, and Track Days' at netrider.net.au started by rc36, Jul 24, 2005.

  1. Yoshimura Suzuki's Mat Mladin completely dominated today's first of two AMA Superbike Nationals at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, the Australian leading from the start to finish for his eighth victory of the season. And perhaps his most impressive.

    Mladin got the jump on the field from pole position and he was never headed, gradually drawing away from the competition. At the finish it was his teammate Ben Spies in second place, but almost 12 seconds behind Mladin. Third today went to Ducati Austin's Eric Bostrom, the Californian staying in touch with Spies throughout the race.

    "It's never easy, but it was a fun race," Mladin said.

    Second place was held for most of the race by Yoshimura Suzuki's Aaron Yates, but the Georgian crashed out in the Carousel on the 20th of 25 laps. From there, Yates finally got the bike running, but only enough to enter pit lane.

    That left Spies to second place, ending up 2.5 seconds ahead of Bostrom.

    Fourth went to American Honda's Miguel Duhamel, the French Canadian barely besting Ducati Austin's Neil Hodgson, the Brit closing throughout to finish just .041 of a second behind at the finish.

    Then came a lonely Josh Hayes on the Attack Kawasaki, well clear of Erion Honda's Kurtis Roberts, the former AMA Superbike race winner ending up seventh. Eighth went to Michael Jordan Motorsports' Jason Pridmore with Jacob Holden and Marty Craggill rounding out the top 10

    Mladin's lead in the championship is now 37 points over Spies, 396-359. Bostrom is third with 297 points.

    Superbike Final

    1. Mat Mladin (Suzuki)

    2. Ben Spies (Suzuki)

    3. Eric Bostrom (Ducati)

    4. Miguel Duhamel (Honda)

    5. Neil Hodgson (Ducati)

    6. Josh Hayes (Kawasaki)

    7. Kurtis Roberts (Honda)

    Coutresy of Cycle News Online


    For a fabulous pic of the Aussie master at work.
  2. And in further AMA Superbike news, Mladin has announced this weekend that he has signed on with Yoshimura Suzuki to do a further 3 years in the AMA Superbike Championship.
  3. he should have signed for the next 4 years so he can make it a full decade of AMA titles under his belt.

    then they can rename the champoinship to the > Mladin AMA Superbike Championship <

    it's never a case of is he going to win, but , by how much........

    GO!!!!!!!! MAT!