Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Missed it by that much

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Doch, Jan 18, 2007.

1. Evening all. I'm gunna dump my little stooooory on you guys 'cause if I tell The Minister for War and Finance she might revoke my grant for a two wheel license and associated benifits

Ive been riding for 15 months now on ye olde gpx and today I got my first big scare. I always thought I was very aware of whats going on around me.
    I was cruising up Gratten St Carlton just crossed over Lygon st when I noticed a tin top stopped in the left lane, no indicators, the brake lights go out and it starts to cruise off, no probs, then without warning or indicators it starts doing a u-turn right in front of me, I hit the horn, grab a hand full of front brake, the old girl dives and somehow pulls to the right the driver stops the car and I manage to miss the front bumper by inches I think.
    I know a miss is good as a mile but it got me thinking, when the faeces hits the vertical impellar all that stuff that was drummed into me the day I went for my full license about emergency stopping and swerving went out the window, or the back of my pants.

Me thinks me has been baptised.

2. Never assume they can't see you.... assume they can see you and they want to kill you.
    Well done on surviving... the 'car that plays dead then tries to kill you' is one of the most deadly adversaries of all.
  3. Ya as my friend with a 300zx correctly points out when I remind him my future zx6r will smoke him - he'll just have to run me over :LOL: