Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Mirror position

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Leighbus, Nov 10, 2013.

1. Went for my second ride today and it occurred to me when wanting to change lanes that my mirrors might not be positioned properly as I couldn't really see much into the next lane at all however I can see behind me fine. The bike is an 07 vtr 250 and currently the mirrors are positioned so when riding I can just see the entire width of my arm on each side.

Should they be angled out more? Sorry if it seems like a stupid question but I'm new to all this.

2. On some bikes the mirrors are almost useless, you sometimes have to move your arms and shoulder to see properly. You may need to adjust them though. Get someone to help you by standing at a diagonal roughly where a vehicle would be in an adjacent lane when you are sitting on the bike. Then adjust the mirrors.

Always do a head check, don't rely on mirrors.
  3. +1 on the head check.

I would find a carpark or similar and try them further out and see how they go. I tend to adjust mine fairly regularly, just because I want them slightly different most times I ride. Also, hanging helmets off them can put them out of alignment.
  4. #4 SevenSins, Nov 10, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2013
    Get someone to stand behind you about the distance a car might be..
    then re-position your mirrors whilst you have the bike upright.
    If you don't have any friends and no strangers will offer to stand behind you, pick a spot behind you and re-position your mirrors.
    You should be able to see the road behind and lanes to left and right if your mirrors are set up. (although as bikes are different some may be a bit more restricted.)