Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Middle of rear tyre split

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by jse81, Sep 21, 2015.

1. Was going over Mt Mee having a nice ride then Tyre let go. 6 inch split right up the middle no evidence of puncture.

Picture attached.

Cheers

Attached Files:

2. Sheesh, never seen that b4. Any ideas, folks?

3. could be a fault in the tyre. How old is it?

4. It's weird. 3000km. It's at Morgan and Wacker now. They'll chase it up on my behalf with Pirelli if they deem it faulty

5. I tend to agree with ibastibast it looks like a manufacturing fault. Maybe a radial belt gave way? Keep us posted on what your supplier says.

6. I'm no expert but it looks like a manufacturing fault to me.

• Agree Agree x 2
  7. Holy shit That's a worry

• Agree Agree x 1
  8. My money is on a box cutter, maybe pre delivery(?), if the tires come wrapped ( and took some time to open up). Or powered on over a sharp object in road but did not pick it up. Either way, might be worthwhile to have a very close look at front to see if any hairline slices/damage to it.

• Agree Agree x 3
  9. The only thing I have seen to cause that sort of nasty damage would be an ex girlfriend.

• Funny Funny x 9
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. Tyres don't come wrapped.

11. road detritus is my bet.

12. My money's on a manufacturing fault, I've not seen anything like that caused by road debris, or even on a race track..

13. Very strange, be interesting to see if you get any definitive feedback

14. Continental had a recall earlier this year for a defect that could result in sudden loss of pressure, but they were all front tyre sizes I think.

15.  Top
    • Like Like x 1