Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Methods to Clean Air Filter...

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' at netrider.net.au started by Zealous, May 11, 2009.

1. New one cost $50.00 and my current one is only 1500kmz old therefore any ideas for cleaning an air filter except a blower... I'm considering rubbing alcohol...

Thanks...

Also I have recently purchased a maintenance free battery and was wondering whether it requires charging before putting it into the bike?

- Zealous

2. Battery should be fine if new. If your worried hook a multimeter up to it and check voltage

3. Hey man, I'm no expert, don't even know what your filter looks like, but i'll tell you what I did (round foam filter) (reccomended to me by another rider, I don't know if its the right way, but worked for me) ok I pulled the filter off (rmx250) took the basket thing out of the middle, then got an icecream bucket, put about 3cm worth of kerosine in there, soaked the filter, then squeezed it to get asmuch kero as i could out of it. Then got rid of the dirty kero, cleaned the container, and did this about 5 times until the filter looked great, and the kero wasnt getting dirty/grit in it.

Squeezed as hard as I could to get rid of asmuch crap as I could, without wringing it, and got a bottle of filter oil, chucked a bit at the bottom of the same icecream container after i'd cleaned it again, and squeezed the oil in until it was all covered, waited the 10mins as per direction on the bottle, then squeezed asmuch oil out as I could, I was told that the amount of oil that wouldnt come out, was the amount that you're meant to leave in the filter.

Hopefully this gets you out of trouble mate.

4. sounds good to me, i'll give it a shot...

thanks for the info guys :)