Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

memorising road risks

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by jphanna, Apr 12, 2012.

1. Something that i have found i am doing since i started riding in the last 2 years.

i have my regular commuting suburban roads and my favourite weekend country loops that i am doing. i am finding that i am noting pot holes, bitumen changes, dodgy road works....etc things that you wouldnt think twice about in a car.

keeping under 60kph in suburbs is real struggle on bike as motor is just ticking over at 60kph, so speed camera locations is added to my list as well.

is this what everyboy else does?
  2. hell yeah.
    but not just road conditions. all hidden dangers that could suprise you, or allready have.
    clearways that cars can shoot out of between stopped traffic.
    blind corners and blind spots due to stupid sign heights on corners etc.
    intersecting roads after cresting a rise.
    factor in to your strategy the point of view from drivers along your route.

and also keep it interesting. pick something different to work on, practice.
    finding the best cambers on shitty roads can be fun too. amazing how fast the right camber can make you. wait, i did'nt say that.
  3. On the roads I frequently ride yes, but be careful you don't get lulled into a false sense of security, it's better to be watchful all the time!

I find I often keep a running commentary in my head, "surface change, bus pulling out, off camber corner, car pulling, corner closing, corner opening" that type of stuff, I don't know why I started doing it, and it's almost unconcious, it just happens.