Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Melbourne expo advice requested

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by techno, Sep 6, 2005.

1. I managed to score myself a trip to Melb which coincides with the motorcycle expo. As this is my first time to this event I'm seeking the sage advice of the netrider elders on what I should try to include in the experience.

How long should I take?
    What are the "must see" things (the netrider stand is a given)
    When is the best time to go?

Any other advice gratefully accepted or ignored.:D

2. have you checked out the website?

Don't have a link but a google of aust motorcycle expo will get you there.

All the info that you will need.
  3. If you were to follow me around this would be how it would go.

Turn up about 10 am, I like to ease into the day.
    Look at each and every stand, display, bike, clothing, accessory and anything that doesn't get covered by the above. No real order, I just follow my nose to the next shiny thing I haven't looked at.

Expect to spend at least six hours if you want to be thorough and sit on everything and take photos.
    Bring food, it isn't cheap inside.
    Wear comfortable boots.
    Take a camera.
    Take money.
    Get your bike dyno'd for free (I did)

I'm the first to admit I'm a bit of a trainspotter when it comes to the bike show so if you just wanted to take a quick look then two hours should be heaps. For my money it pisses all over the car show so I like to take my time and really get into it.
  4. Yep I am like Deyago, like to take my time and wander around in a bit of a daze at all the shiny things that are there.
    Leave plenty of time, just in case you get caught by something really nice.