Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

[Melb] Be kind to pedestrians

Discussion in 'The Pub' at netrider.net.au started by Roscoe, Dec 6, 2006.

1. Not sure if this is the correct area or not and I hope as a new rider and new forum member people don’t take this the wrong way.

I ride in to Melbourne’s CBD every day and work on Collins St. Because I start early it’s no issue for me to park on the foot path without affecting pedestrians. Around 8:30-9am I’ll go get a drink and sit at the front of our building and watch the bikes turn up… and I’ve got to say some riders are going to get all riders in Melbourne in trouble.

I notice bikes riding on the footpath twice the speed of pedestrians, backing out in front of them and even beeping at them.

Since I started riding around 3 months ago there has been an obvious increase in riders. Where I park when I started riding would have maybe another one to two bikes near me, now it’s six or seven. My concern is that a few pushy riders are going to tick someone off who’s going to have a whinge to council and we’ll not be allowed on the footpaths anymore.

Personally I believe we should only ride a walking pace, have our feet on the ground and give pedestrians the right of way. If that means it takes a minute or two to park then so be it… it’s a hell of a lot better then the alternatives.

2. Or even dismount and walk the bike like we are supposed to :!:

3. You have to be kidding. right? :eek: