Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Major corner fubar on the Black Spur

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by RGVroomDaddy, Mar 4, 2006.

1. Had my first real scare since I started riding about 3 months ago on the black spur today.

Going through two opposing semi-hairpins about half way through the spur. The first one is right, the second one left. Put GPR70s on the other day so was going pretty hard and exited the first turn pretty fast, causing me to scrape a peg for the first time about half way through the second which either:

a) caused a panic reaction which made me pick the bike up OR
    b) upset the bike and put it off course away from the corner

I am not sure which but either way it put me out on to the wrong side of the road for a good 2 seconds on the exit of the turn which fortunately for me there was nothing coming otherwise I would have been a face plant statistic.

So I have two questions:

1) Which is more likely a) or b) … I suspect it was a) but am wondering whether a peg scrape would generally be expected to disturb the bike without rider reaction.

2) I assume I am doing something wrong with my body position since I was hanging off with the knee out but am surprised that my peg scraped before my knee since a zx2r has to be ridiculously low to scrape the pegs (I leaned it over when I got home to check). I think it might be because I was hanging off too much to the side rather than rotating the hips and knee forward around the tank and thus knee was more out than down. Does this sound plausible?